Comparison

Scheduling software for dental, chiropractic and PT clinics

Dental scheduling software for a small practice usually means a tool that sits on your practice management system, such as NexHealth or Weave, while chiropractic and PT clinics can choose an all-in-one system such as Jane or WebPT. General booking tools can work if the vendor signs a HIPAA business associate agreement (BAA). As of October 2026, Acuity (Premium plan) and Setmore (Pro plan) say they include one, Square says its BAA can apply to Appointments in HIPAA-enabled setups, and Calendly's terms bar protected health information. This is not legal advice. Get any BAA in writing before patient information goes into a tool.

By Plato Belmont, founder of Magnet Mint, Boston. Updated

Dental scheduling software: two kinds of tool

A clinic schedule is not a salon schedule. Visits vary in length, one provider may need a room and equipment, new patients fill in forms, and some visits are billed to insurance. So clinic software falls into two groups.

  1. All-in-one practice systems. Scheduling sits inside the record and billing system. Examples here: Jane and WebPT for physical therapy and chiropractic care.
  2. Scheduling and patient communication layers. They sit on top of your existing dental or medical system and handle online booking, reminders, recalls and forms. Examples: NexHealth and Weave.

A third option is a general booking tool such as Acuity, Setmore or Square Appointments. It costs less, but it matters a great deal whether the vendor will sign a HIPAA business associate agreement (BAA). That is the first question for a clinic, so we start there. For how booking, reminders and follow-up fit together, see our guide to online booking and follow-up.

We opened each vendor’s own pages in October 2026 and report only what they state. Prices are in US dollars unless noted. This is not legal advice, and a vendor saying it is “HIPAA compliant” does not make your practice compliant. We have no partnership with any vendor listed.

Which scheduling tools say they sign a BAA

SoftwareWhat its own page says about HIPAA or a BAA (October 2026)Plan
Acuity SchedulingLists a “Business Associate Agreement for HIPAA compliance”Premium ($55/mo billed annually, $69 monthly)
SetmoreLists a signed BAA for HIPAA on Pro; Free shows “No”Pro ($5 per user/mo on annual billing, $12 billed monthly)
Square AppointmentsBAA page (updated March 16, 2026) says the BAA applies to services and configurations Square identifies as HIPAA-enabled, naming Square Appointments; data from Square’s consumer-facing services, such as Square Go, is excludedSee the BAA terms; the pricing page does not say
CalendlyCustomer terms (effective August 5, 2026): customers warrant their data contains no protected health information. A Calendly community manager wrote on July 17, 2026 that Calendly does not currently offer a BAANone found
JanePricing page lists “HIPAA Compliance” under security for all plans; BAA not mentioned on that pageAll
NexHealthPricing page has a “HIPAA compliance and security” section (encryption at rest); BAA not mentioned on that pageAll
WebPTMentions a “HIPAA-compliant chatbot” among AI documentation tools; BAA not mentionedNot stated
WeaveHIPAA and BAA not mentioned on the pricing pageNot stated

“Not mentioned” does not mean “not offered.” It means we could not confirm it from the page. Ask the vendor to confirm in writing which plan the BAA covers and what it includes.

Dental scheduling software: NexHealth and Weave

Dental offices usually already have practice management software. The question is how patients book and how you remind them.

NexHealth publishes no prices: its page says “Get pricing for your practice” and offers custom plans, with monthly or yearly billing and no cancellation fees. You assemble a package from features: online booking, one-click recalls, waitlist, a scheduling widget, texting, reminders, reviews, digital forms, text and email billing and insurance verification. The page says a synchronizer included in all packages reads and writes data to your health record system, and lists supported systems including Dentrix, Open Dental and athenahealth.

Weave says “starting from $199 per month” and shows Pro, Elite and Ultimate tiers with “Get Pricing” buttons. It lists online scheduling, two-way texting, schedule confirmations, appointment reminders, bulk texting allotments (1,500, 3,000 or 15,000 messages by tier) and VoIP phones.

For both, ask which dental systems they connect to, who owns the data, and what happens to the schedule if you cancel. Our guide to appointment reminders lists what a reminder should say.

Chiropractic and physical therapy scheduling software: Jane and WebPT

Jane has three plans: Balance (one practitioner, limited to 20 appointments a month), Practice and Thrive. Practice adds unlimited appointments and staff profiles. Online booking through a branded site is a core feature, SMS reminders are free on Practice (availability varies by region), and insurance billing is a paid add-on on Practice and Thrive. Jane says it has no free trial and offers a demo and a demo account. Jane shows prices by region, and the page we were shown was in Canadian dollars, so for the dollar amounts see the vendor’s US pricing page.

WebPT is built by and for physical therapists, and its pages also list chiropractic. It publishes no prices: it quotes per provider per month or per visit, in Starter, Enhanced and Ultimate plans. Schedule management and automated reminders appear in Care, and online scheduling in the Engage module, across all three plans. The page warns that feature lists differ between summaries and detail sections, so confirm specifics with a representative.

General booking tools for a small clinic

If you run a small, mostly cash-pay practice, a general tool may be enough.

  • Acuity Scheduling. Standard ($27 a month billed annually, $34 monthly) lists SMS reminders, a waitlist, packages and memberships. Premium adds the BAA. Starter lists intake forms. There is no free plan; there is a 7-day trial.
  • Setmore. A free plan allows up to four users. Pro lists text reminders, deposits and a signed BAA.
  • Square Appointments. Free for solo professionals. Plus is $49 a month per location. The BAA applies only in configurations Square identifies as HIPAA-enabled, so ask in writing before you use appointment notes or reminders for patient details.
  • Calendly. Not for patient information, per its customer terms.

Compare Acuity and Square more closely in Square vs Acuity vs Calendly.

Which one fits your clinic

  • Dental office with Dentrix or Open Dental. NexHealth or Weave, by quote. Ask first what connects to your system.
  • PT clinic with insurance billing. WebPT or Jane. Get quotes with your provider count.
  • Solo chiropractor or physical therapist, cash-pay. Jane Practice, Acuity Premium or Setmore Pro. Only if a BAA is in place.
  • Wellness practice, not clinical. A general tool such as Acuity Standard may be enough, with no health details in forms.
  • Med spa with treatments. See our salon and med spa booking software comparison.

Reducing no-shows in a clinic

An empty chair hurts a clinic more than a salon, because the provider’s time is booked by the hour. Three things help: reminders by text and email, a clear cancellation policy, and a short waitlist to fill late cancellations. Our guides cover how to reduce no-shows, a no-show policy template, and waitlist and rebooking.

A checklist before you sign

  1. Does the vendor sign a BAA, and does it cover the plan you are buying?
  2. Does it read and write to your practice management system, or does staff retype?
  3. What does a reminder say? Keep health details out of the message text.
  4. What are text charges, setup fees and the minimum term?
  5. Can you export patient and appointment data if you leave?
  6. Who supports you when the schedule breaks on a Monday morning?

How Magnet Mint helps

We do not sell or resell any of these tools. We connect the one you use to your website, set up online booking links, confirmations and reminders, and help you choose. We keep patient health information out of chat and SMS unless the vendor signs a BAA, and staff handle clinical questions. Our booking setup is from $600, and the software subscription is billed to you at cost. See booking software setup, or ask for a free demo: a short call, then a demo for your business, free and with no obligation.

Published . Updated .

Frequently asked questions

What is the best dental scheduling software?

It depends on your practice management system. NexHealth's pricing page lists integrations with Dentrix and Open Dental and prices by quote. Weave starts from $199 a month and lists online scheduling, two-way texting and reminders. Check that whichever you pick reads and writes to your existing system.

Which scheduling tools say they sign a BAA?

Per their own pages in October 2026, Acuity Scheduling lists a business associate agreement on its Premium plan, and Setmore lists a signed HIPAA BAA on its Pro plan. Square's BAA page says it can cover Square Appointments in configurations Square identifies as HIPAA-enabled. Calendly's customer terms ask customers to warrant that their data contains no protected health information.

Can I use Calendly for a clinic?

Not for patient information. Calendly's customer terms ask customers to warrant that their data contains no protected health information, and a Calendly community manager wrote in July 2026 that Calendly is not meant for collecting it and does not currently offer a BAA. It can still book a non-clinical call if no health details are collected.

How much does chiropractic or physical therapy scheduling software cost?

For Jane, see the vendor's US pricing page; it has three plans (Balance, Practice and Thrive) and no free trial. WebPT and NexHealth publish no prices and quote by provider or package. General tools such as Acuity start at $16 a month billed annually, and Setmore has a free plan.

Do these tools send appointment reminders by text?

Yes, mostly. Jane lists free SMS reminders on Practice (availability varies by region), NexHealth lists reminders and texting, Weave lists text confirmations and bulk texting, and Acuity lists SMS reminders from Standard. Ask what a reminder may say and whether it is covered by a BAA.

Can an AI assistant or chatbot book patients?

It can answer general questions without a BAA. Booking is different: under HIPAA, a patient's name tied to an appointment request is protected health information, so the assistant books only through tools whose vendor signs a BAA. Staff handle clinical questions. This is not legal advice.

Sources

  1. Acuity Scheduling: Pricing, October 2026
  2. Setmore: Pricing, October 2026
  3. Square: HIPAA Business Associate Agreement, October 2026
  4. Calendly Community: BAA/HIPAA compliance, October 2026
  5. Calendly: Customer Terms and Conditions, October 2026
  6. Jane: Pricing, October 2026
  7. NexHealth: Pricing, October 2026
  8. WebPT: Pricing, October 2026
  9. Weave: Pricing, October 2026

Related reading

Start with a free demo

See how customers and AI assistants see your business today.

A short call, then a demo for your business: what customers find, what AI answers say, and where you lose leads. No obligation.